Thursday 11.27.2013

IMG_3729Thanksgiving is weirdly orphaned between my two favorite holidays; it doesn’t have the spooky charm of Halloween or the gaudy excess of Christmas, it’s just sort of there, boring and traditional without the fanfare that make the other two so much fun. And then there’s the turkey. I find it unpleasant, both as a living bird and a main course so I don’t even look forward to the dinner aspect of it. Add it all up and you have a day best spent relaxed, not making a fuss or going shopping. That said, traditions are traditions, so….

I’m pretty thankful this year.
Last year was a year of self discovery, and this year has been one of resolve. Making sure that the changes that were so hard earned were sustainable; that once things were ‘good’ I’d lose the drive to change or to grow, drop back into old mindsets and end up in a rut, even if the rut wasn’t terrible. As we see 2014 creeping ever closer, I’m pleased to say that this year has far exceeded my expectations.

I’m thankful that I’m going into a new year with Julia by my side. I’m thankful that I got to see Bethany twice this year. I’m thankful that I got to see Jenna three times this year. I’m thankful that my job is fun, my dog is rad and that I’ve got friends who’re here for me through good times (and 2013 has seen it’s fair share of those) and bad times (same) alike.

I’m also thankful that I’ve had time to clean my room today, because it was starting to become a hovel.

Happy thanksgiving everyone.

 

 

Leave a Reply

