Monday 10.07.2013

1381670_10201868027049833_1831363702_nI just realized I haven’t updated since I got back from Toronto.
The whole ‘leaving the country to process’ thing really cleared my head and I’ve been concentrating on Julia, life and adventure and I’ve gotten behind on everything. I like that, when life kicks in and sitting in front of my laptop ceases being a priority. But we find me sitting in the basement tonight at 4:30am unable to sleep, surrounded by VHS tapes and finally in possession of enough motivation to say hello to the Internet again.

October is on course for being my busiest month of the year; it seems that every bit of my month is scheduled out with a mix of hard work and fun adventure, with some of it being the same thing. Julia and I are heading up to New York on Saturday (after working what promises to be a crazy night on Friday) for the New York Comic Con for my second Pushead event of the year. I’ve been spoiled so far in 2013 with both SDCC and NYCC Pushead trips being an option and I’m really looking forward to hanging out with my nerdy friends.

Regrettably ComicCon weekend is also OUTFEST in the Philly Gayborhood and we’ve got a full weekend planned, so it’s going to be another one of those work all night, wake up two hours later to get on a bus, get to NYC, go to the Convention, grab a bus back to Philly and work till 3am only to get back up and be at the bar by 11am to work until 3am again kinda weekends. I just typed that out and it still confuses me.

The following weekend will see Team Occult Vibrations running our Philly AIDS WALK 5k. I’m super proud of the team- to date we’ve raised over $3000 for local HIV/AIDS Charities and we still have two weeks left to shake the cup and see what we get. How awesome is that? We get to do our run AND people in our area who really need the relief get much needed funds. When we started this thing I didn’t expect to raise the full $1000 goal I had set. That we tripled it and then some makes me really happy.

The week after the run we have Austin Texas/Halloween. Julia and I are finally taking a proper vacation together and it’s to a city I’ve never visited before so it’s lining up to be a really rad time. I still need to get off my ass and contact my Austin friends about neighborhoods and all so I can book a hotel but otherwise we’re all set.

There’s so much good stuff going on in my life that even when bad stuff pops up…  it gets dealt with. Can’t ask for much more than that.

Leave a Reply

