Friday 04.26.2013

11939_10200760026550513_777009307_n

With all of the pre-event stuff pretty much locked down, I’m finally starting to wind down and acclimate to a few hundred weirdos invading my city to say goodbye to Shannon. The ‘Stay Calm’ team has pretty much been working nonstop since a week or so after his passing to make this event happen despite tons of obstacles; including Pifa and the Penn Relay taking up most of the hotel rooms in Philly, the park not taking reservations and a baby shower that almost thwarted Sunday Brunch.

But in about fourteen hours I’ll be sitting on a blanket in Franklin Square park with too many friends to count, telling ‘this one time’ stories, sharing photos from our shared past and preparing for what really is a family reunion. I’ve said it before that everyone thinks that their ‘glory days’ were glorious, but goddamn did we have fun during the IAM/BME years. Our community literally spanned the globe; there were times I’d just pick a city, grab a plane ticket at random and not make any plans other than to let my IAM friends know where I was headed. On zero notice total strangers made me feel welcome via couches, guest rooms and even the occasional shared bed and my house was equally open to IAM folks passing through. Every few months, inspired by a random Holiday we’d throw parties that Bacchus would envy; The Ho Ho Hoedown, Zombiethon, Balls Will Drop, Erin Go Blah, Cupid is Stupid… all we needed was a catchy title and we’d get together WAY too many people for my South Philly apartment. Or Shannon would hold a BMEfest; Toronto, Tweed, Mexico… the word would go out and come Canada Day/Independence Day we’d mobilize and spend time being crazy, having fun and god bless or curse us, documenting the whole affair.

Some of those Photos will be on display at the memorial tomorrow, collected from BME folks all over the world. Reminders of a time when we’d all get together for no reason much less the death of a friend and just be us. I’m proud by how many aren’t safe for work.

Otherwise life has been chugging along in the days since my last update. More first dates. A few casual meetings for lunch or hanging out at the bar. As predicted things seem to get a lot less consistent after we meet, which is disappointing since some of the ladies I’ve been meeting are super rad and would make great friends. But things are how they are. Maybe it’s me. No idea. But that at least means that there’s the potential of new folks in my life, and that carries me over when I get bummed that someone I thought would make a great addition to my life stops texting me. Socializing over 35 is strange and the reality that 39 is coming in a few months is settling in. I’m in the best shape of my life mentally and physically and with Cynthia’s help am 100% confident in my boundaries so maybe that’s what’s keeping people away? My resolve that I just want to be single? Not that I’m so goddamned awesome that everyone I meet MUST want to date me, but I dunno. Hell. I wouldn’t date me, so…

Bah. None of that.

Tomorrow… the weirdos!

Leave a Reply

