Monday 03.11.13

581868_10200520239155978_296733757_n

It’s a damn nice day out. Bailey and I just got back from a decent walk (which he enjoyed immensely) and I’ve just finished up a lemon and poppyseed ice cream custard that later on tonight will be a delicious and horrible-for-me treat. I’m taking advantage of the weather today and a new friend and I are going to go on an Atlantic City adventure. I’m trying to be more social so this is going to be interesting in so much as we haven’t met yet; going to take the plunge from chatting online with someone to meeting up for a quick trip. Should be a good time and there’ll be a visit to Harrah’s buffet for a protein boost, so… I’ll let you know how it goes.

The last week has been really rad.

For the health and fitness portion of my formulaic updates:
I’ve been getting more into endurance running; I’m only up to 30 minutes but every few days I add five minutes to my routine. I really want to do a 5k this spring or summer, so I want to get more acclimated to longer and longer runs without feeling like my lungs are going to explode. Running never really appealed to me, but I’m starting to ‘get it’- when I feel like I can’t go on any longer and see on my screen that I have 10 more minutes and instead of giving up, I up my pace, run faster and dare myself to continue. I’m going to see about joining Erin and MB on their Monday runs, though I know that running in ‘the wild’ of Philadelphia is a lot different than running on a treadmill. We’ll see how it goes.

I had a visit from my friend Allison and her fella Chris. She’s one of my favorite people but since her move to Pittsburgh we don’t see each other as often as I’d like to so it was really rad to be able to catch up. They stopped in Philly to visit en route back to Pitts from NYC so the visit was brief but still much needed. Allison has stuck with me through some of the roughest patches in my life and her visit reminded me to make a Pittsburgh trip this summer.

I’ve been thinking a lot about moving therapy to every other week. For almost a year I’ve been going every Thursday; to have Cynthia spread the appointments out to every other week is a nice reinforcement that I’m making the progress that I want to make and an indicator that long term I may be getting to where I don’t need to go anymore. Strangely I think I’d miss the sessions. I think I finally have a comfort level with her as a therapist that allows me to really open up, but the revelations I’m getting through my appointments by all rights should be things I’m working through on my own. Eventually I’ll get to where she says it’s time for me to deal with life on my own terms; post breakup last year I was so lost- betrayed and freshly self aware of what a sap I had been and my ability to deal with things was compromised. Therapy has really helped me with those issues- boundaries that would have quelled the mooching, etc… So it’s a bittersweet thing to start phasing it out but one that’s ultimately necessary.

Today is an ‘off day’ for the gym, so I’m going to enjoy a few Harry Potter movies before AC!

Photo: Flier for an IHOUSE Japanese movie fest. 

Leave a Reply

