Tuesday 01.29.13

photo

Hello again, blog.
It’s early evening and I’m laying in bed, slightly ‘relaxed’ and enjoying season 2 episode 1 of BBC’s SHERLOCK. I just got home from a really good gym day- extra cardio and increased weight for my arms- and am patiently waiting movie night with Erin. We’re going to see Hansel and Gretel tonight; I’m not really expecting much so I’m sure I’ll at the very least be entertained. Movies like that usually do their job for me. If you don’t go in to it expecting something profound and just enjoy it for what it is- in this case a campy big budget SFX showpiece- you’ll probably enjoy it.

I think there’s a metaphor or life lesson in there somewhere.

I feel bad for neglecting my blog; I really do get a lot out of cataloguing my days and being able to go back and see what I was doing on a specific one. And I have no excuses. Haven’t really been that busy of late, just enjoying life and forgetting to document it. I’ll work on that.

I had a pretty huge issue, again, with the Southwark Station USPS location on 9th and Dickinson street last week. Above and beyond them constantly losing my packages, the customer service is legendarily bad. I think this is the wakeup call I need to just stop using the USPS as well as is practical. All of the standard cliche’ aside-there’s a reason that they’re going bankrupt. I’ve written about it at length; to the Postal Inspector, Consumer Affairs, etc so I’m not going to bother going into the sordid details, save to say that there is a hell, and it’s the 9th and Dickinson South Philly ‘Southwark Station’ Post Office.  Luckily one of the two packages they lost- 24hrs apart- finally showed up.

I mentioned the gym earlier; I’ve been a lot more strict about going lately. I haven’t really gained any weight, but I’ve certainly lost some focus over the last few weeks and my daily trips and tightly controlled food intake has become every other day and bad for me food here and there. It’s ok to take days off and splurge a little calorically, but I think I was letting it get out of hand, so I checked myself, reorganized my workouts and have been making a renewed commitment to getting back on track. I’ve finally added daily jogging into the mix; still not my thing and at the moment it’s just been on the treadmill at 12th Street, but it’s better than not jogging I guess. I already feel better thanks to getting back on track. Some sort of irony there; exercise myself silly and feel better. You’d think it would be the opposite. I met a really rad 81yo lady the other day at the gym the other day who really had a lot of inspirational things to say about healthy living. When we were talking I told her that one of my fears of being an obese 40yo (I round up) was that I’d end up being an obese 80yo, or worse yet not live to see her age. We chatted for quite some time and her PMA really rubbed off on me. Such a weird life.

(break to go to the movies)

So Hansel and Gretel turned out to be exactly what I was expecting, and as such, no disappointment.

Tomorrow is ‘clean your house, man’ day, so I’m going to try to get some sleep instead of sending letters to the internet.

Photo: Back in Denim

Leave a Reply

