Tuesday 11.27.12

Apparently it’s snowing in the suburbs.
I’m curled up in bed with Bailey, as is my lazy day habit, sipping a Kombucha and watching The Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind. The whole movie is so damned awkward; every time I start it I swear I won’t be able to finish it, but then Clementine charms the hell out of me and I carry on. I’m working on gussying up the resolve to put on my rain gear and bike to the gym, but it’s pissing freezing rain and the bed/pooch/kombucha is so comfortable I’m not sure I’m going to do it.

It’s ok to take a day off, and I’ve already done some working out (wiifit!) so this is my justification to not feel guilty if I don’t make it to the gym today.

The last few days have been so full of awesome; surprise visits from friends, starting American Horror Story with Carole. a really rad first date with someone who seems pretty awesome (majestic?) and it’s only Tuesday. Which means I get to add movie night with Erin on the pile of kickass and just keep up with the good times.

My friends Jen and Dave surprised me at work the other night. I haven’t seen Jen since Dallas a few years ago, and Dave since Los Angeles in 2006 (last time I saw him he was totally decked out in a storm trooper uniform) so it was a hell of a surprise to see them walking into the bar. We were able to catch up over a few drinks (I had a Sprite, and there was a Capri Sun in the mix) and a lot of laughing. Totally blew my mind to see them.

Carole finally has me watching American Horror Story. We’re trying to watch them together so it’s going to be a slower process than my normal ‘don’t sleep till it’s finished’ process of watching series television on Netflix. We watched the first two episodes and so far I’m hooked. No Zachary Quinto yet, but Jessica Lang is perfectly evil. I can’t wait to see where it goes. We finished the day by having lunch at Underdogs in the Italian Market. It’s always weird for me going to that part of the market- I lived half a block away for seven years and have so many great memories of that block. But the hotdogs were worth it, as was the company.

Monday night I had a first date with a really rad lady from the Northeast. She refuses to admit she’s from the suburbs, I refuse to admit that I’m a ginger… so there’s a nice balance of denial in our new friendship. We went to Industry Bar on Moyamensing; I’ve been meaning to go for so long and the date with Natalie was the perfect reason to finally do it. We had the best waiter; at one point he looked at us and said “oh. It’s been so long since I’ve gotten to banter!” with the biggest smile on his face. We chatted and got to know each other over some really great food- Buffalo Style Sweetbreads (me) and corn arepas (her) finishing up with cinnamon donuts with an apple cider carmel sauce. Before we knew it we had been there for four hours!

Such a good time, and so nice to ‘click’ with new people. I talk a lot about my hesitation to be social, but I keep having really rad experiences when I do it, so… thankfully she asked me out for a second date. I’m so not used to being single; this is sequentially the longest I’ve ever been, since I was 23. Obviously I get lonely, but… until I work out my own issues it’s nice to not run into something serious while still spending time with folks who make me happy. Knowing a lot about Pee Wee Herman has never really come in handy before, so last night was aces.

Photo: Philadelphia Street Art, Italian Market.

Leave a Reply

