Sunday 11.18.12

I’ve already started trying to talk myself out of the ‘Great Holiday Road Trips’, citing the cost of fuel and tolls, getting a sitter for Bailey and a host of other hooey. Road trips are easier for me to back out on, since there’s no ticket purchased, no hotels booked, etc. It’s not that I don’t want to go, it’s just that I start thinking about all of the negatives and then get stressed and the stress (used to) shuts me down. But I think I’m going to stick to my guns and commit to the trip. I can’t really swing a road trip for both holidays since I’ll be going to Florida the first week of January, so I think I’m going to just go with Boston for New Years.

So that’s official now. I’m going to be in Boston for New Years.
I’m either bringing Bailey or I’m not. I’m either booking a hotel, or I’m not. But one way or the other…. dear Boston friends… you’ll be seeing me soon.  I really want to welcome in 2013 doing something fun and if I stay home I’ll just end up going to the bar. I’ve done that more often than not over the last decade, even before I worked here, and not that there’s anything wrong with it, but I’d really like to do something a little different. Just a matter of situating all of the details.

Then I’ll have Florida to deal with. Very excited now about the prospect of going down there and spending time with David, and Naomi, and Skip and Mike Natali and all of my Tampa family. I had some serious reservations immediately after booking the trip (see above. I do it a lot. This time it was about being in the house I grew up in) but I’m really getting excited about the idea of being down there. It’s going to be great to revisit the house, say my peace to where I grew up and kind of close that chapter of my life. I think I’m finally getting to an age where nostalgia isn’t ironic; Plant City seems like it was so long ago and I’m finally tuning into how living there, growing up there affected the adult I’ve become.  If David and I finish the tattoo this visit, it’s likely to be the last time I visit Plant City until it’s time to finally sell the house down there, so I’m going to try to make it count. I’m really not sure how much of my old stuff my parents kept- the last time I visited in 2008  there was still a bunch of my stuff in a closet. I’m hoping it’s still there; there’s a potential for all of my old Pushead correspondence to still be down there if my Mom didn’t toss it. All of my old He-Man toys, old drawings, books I didn’t move up to Philly with me. I’m probably going to bring (or buy) a second suitcase to bring stuff home in. Take advantage of Southwest’s baggage policy.

It’s also going to be fun to cherry pick through old photo albums; my Mom took a lot of photos of Robert and I were kids that are amazingly ’70s that I’d like to scan and preserve. The whole rib tattoo thing is going to be no fun, but if I handle it well I’m going to reward myself with a trip to Sea World or Disney. I have zero issue being a cheeseball tourist in the state I grew up in.

I won’t allow myself to ruin my good time.

Photo: DC Adventure photo. 

Leave a Reply

