Tuesday 11.14.12

Patience has been on my mind a lot lately. I told my therapist last week about the issues I’ve had with patience and have been doing my best to work on it. Tonight was one of those nights where I was forced to put my money where my mouth is and do my best to not lose it over something that’s not really worth ruining my night over.

I caught the new Bond film this evening (kickass, by the way. Really worth seeing) and then came home to assemble the bed frame  I bought earlier today for the guest room. Ikea furniture is infamous for causing stress but I went into it hoping that it wouldn’t be too terrible. Right before I started, I found out that a friend of mine passed away this morning from cancer. Not a super close friend, but someone who recently took the time to cheer me up when I was down, even though he was battling with cancer. Right then and there I should have just backed off, went upstairs, taken my glaucoma medication and cuddled up with Bailey, leaving the bed construction for tomorrow.

Instead I went ahead with the build only to have the main part of the headboard break while putting it together. Of course this is right after Ikea closed, so by page two of the directions I had to call it quits until tomorrow. Normally I would be freaking out right now and letting something as trivial as a small glitch with the bed overshadow how good of a day I had up to that point.

Then I think about Manny and it all just sort of balances out. There are things going on all over that are so much more troubling than a bed frame not going together and while it’s inconvenient and annoying, it’s by no means the end of the world. Ikea is five blocks away. Tomorrow I’ll run in, attempt to swap out the broken piece (which I’m sure will be a trial unto itself) and then get the build completed and the room straightened up before the next AirBnB guest arrives.

Otherwise today was a good day. I was hanging out with my friend Carole and we discovered that we had met each other a few years ago… at my house. How weird is that? We’re talking about a mutual friend and we realized that we had met before. So totally surreal that neither of us remembered that before today. I’ve really been feeling the time crunch lately with my friendships- working bar hours makes maintaining friendships with folks who work ‘regular’ jobs difficult and I feel like inevitably some of the new friends I’m making are going to get frustrated with my lack of availability and withdraw. So it’s nice to have a friend who also works in the bar business.

I’m going to have to be a lot more proactive about letting them know how much I enjoy having them in my life and hope that we can make some sort of compromise between the hours I keep and the hours they keep because some of the new folks in my life are really rad.

This being a grownup thing is weird.

Photo: My stinkbug friend, Philly to DC Busride. 

Leave a Reply

