Friday 11.09.12

I think that everyone needs a nemesis. It’s like a partnership between two parties where the contempt defines us both. Right now my nemesis is the United States Postal Service. Canada Bill Jones, noted cardsharp and confidence man once said, and I’m paraphrasing here, that “I know it’s crooked, but it’s the only game in town.”

As I sit here killing time waiting for a package that was ‘lost’ in a post office in California for over a week and only found after I called and opened a claim, I think of another Canada Bill quote: “It’s immoral to let a sucker keep his money”

The package has been out for delivery since 7:51am. I’ve been awake since 9am. There have been no knocks on the door, rings from the doorbell or even a ‘drop and walk’ from my postman. Tomorrow I’ll find a backdated ‘sorry we missed you’ slip in my mailbox with information on where to go collect the package that wasn’t delivered today. I’ll be surly to the Post Master of my local branch, which by all accounts is somewhere on the sixth level of Hell, and he’ll either be obtuse (like he normally is) or confrontational (like he is the rest of the time) when I ask him why the carrier said he tried to deliver it when I know he didn’t.

That’s if it’s not lost here in Philly… which is always a possibility.

So yeah. Nemesis.

Do you know what “nemesis” means? A righteous infliction of retribution manifested by an appropriate agent. Personified in this case by an ‘orrible cunt… me.

Not that I’m going to be an ‘orrible cunt like Brick Top, but still. I’m going to do what so many of my peers do and bitch about it on the internet even though in the end it doesn’t really make a difference either way. I’ll still get the package, albeit a day later. The United States Postal Service will still suck with no ramifications. And in the end all will be well. Since one of my goals this week post therapy is to work on patience, which echoes on my previous goal of setting boundaries, I figure it’s better to come here and vent and bitch and moan than to go into the post office tomorrow huffing and puffing, since I know that’s a house that won’t be blown down.

See? I already feel better. (update: They actually attempted to deliver it! At 6:27pm)

Last night after work I took a nice 15 mile bike ride; I’ve been not doing the longer social rides since the weather started turning cold, but I’m getting back into the swing of things tonight with another ride. It’s that little bit of decompression that I need to help me separate work and rest. No long rides; nothing crazy but a 15m ride at night is perfect. Just enough to start feeling it but not so much that I ramp myself up and can’t get to sleep. And now that I’m averaging six hours a night I’m trying not to do anything that throws off the sleep schedule.

Tomorrow is going to be another long one. I’m getting up early to have a friend visit and drop off a new Pushead piece (which is also what’s waiting at the post office) and BS a little bit about our nerdy collections, then it’s a birthday party for my nephew (he turns 9 tomorrow) and then work. Makes for a lot of hours on my feet and getting the right amount of rest tonight sort of goes part and parcel into keeping Saturday night not miserable.

Biking. Fitness. Toys. Friends. Family.
I really like how almost all of my life can be broken down into a few easily tabbed categories.

Photo: Lincoln! DC Trip November 2012. 

 

Leave a Reply

