Wednesday 10.31.12

Halloween is the absolute best day of the year.
The story was the same for every Monster Kid growing up; it was the one time a year where everyone wanted to be like us. The spooky movies we watched year ’round were aired on tv, the movie monsters that were on posters in our bedrooms ended up decorating windows and doors throughout the neighborhood. It was cool to know a lot about scary movies; everyone would ask you what to watch all month long. And then there was the candy.

I got more texts today saying ‘happy holiday’ than I will on christmas.

Because Halloween is the absolute best day of the year.

It started with USPS knocking on my door to deliver the new Pushead toy I scored off Secret Base a few days ago. October was an amazing month for my Pushead collection and getting this piece was the icing on the cake. The poor USPS guy always sees me at my worst when he comes before 11am. Jeans not buttoned, hoodie unzipped or towel draped over my shoulders, bed head proudly poofed out….  I’m sure he’s seen worse but just once I want to not look like I spent the previous night at a frat party when he delivers a package.

I decided not to go back to sleep (btw- still averaging 5hrs a night!) so I could spend as much of today watching as many spooky movies as possible. After a little mini workout (thanks WiiFit) I vegged in bed with Bailey trolling Netflix and Hulu+ for all of the classics I missed out on during my 31 days of horror challenge. Day 31 ended with, predictably, Halloween. The original John Carpenter 1978 version. I’ve been watching it on Halloween every year for quite a while now. It’s a ritual for a lot of us, I’m sure.

I went into Halloween with no plans, but in my life I’ve found that the best plan is to make no plans. Take it as it comes. So when the kickass lady  that I had wanted to ask out on Halloween told me that her trip to California was canceled and asked me if I wanted to spend it with her after all.. she didn’t have to ask me twice. Hurricane Sandy saved my absolute best day of the year. Sure it spread chaos and destruction all over the east coast, but it also got me a date with a really awesome woman, so checks and balances.

I think I’ll be asking her for a third date.

I did have one little dark cloud cast on my day in the form of spilling boiling water on my foot. Big ol half dollar sized blister from the looks of it. I left my sock on for a few hours because I wanted to pretend that it didn’t happen and avoid having to deal with it, but ultimately my date, who’s much more responsible than me it would seem. encouraged me to check on it. I just put a little bit of burn cream on it- I knew there was a reason it’s included in every first aid kit-and put a fresh clean sock over it so I can again ignore it. The politics of being an adult are a complicated thing; I know I should take care of it but reserve the right to pretend it didn’t happen.

Luckily the dark cloud didn’t affect my Australians. They were finally able to get a bus to NYC a day after they were originally schedule to leave. If I had to have guests stuck here at least they were pleasant, friendly guests. Every amazing boarder I’ve had since I started the AirBnB thing has been Australian. Go figure.

Today was rad.

31 Days of Horror Films 2012:

  1. House of 1000 Corpses.
  2. The Devil’s Rejects.
  3. The Texas Chainsaw Massacre 2.
  4. Phantasm.
  5. Slither.
  6. The Innkeepers.
  7. The Strangers.
  8. Nightmare before Christmas/Coraline/Frankenweenie. (2012)
  9. Hellraiser/Nightbreed/Lord of Illusions.
  10. A Nightmare on Elm Street/A Nightmare on Elm Street 2.
  11. Cabin in the Woods.
  12. Halloween 4/5.
  13. No Movie- travel day.
  14. Trick R Treat.
  15. Sinister (2012)
  16. Walking Dead Season II. Yes. The entire season.
  17. Children of the Corn.
  18. Halloween II (Rob Zombie)
  19. Texas Chainsaw Massacre. (remake)
  20. Season of the Witch (1972)
  21. Beyond the Black Rainbow.
  22. Suspiria.
  23. Planet Terror.
  24. No movie- travel day.
  25. Prince of Darkness.
  26. Death Proof.
  27. The Exorcist. (original version)
  28. Night of the Living Dead (remake)
  29. Evil Dead II.
  30. Silent Hill Revelation.
  31. Halloween

Photo: SiameseWerm GID

Leave a Reply

