Tuesday 10.30.12

Survived Hurricane Sandy with no incidents. Power stayed on all night, no projectiles launched through windows or trees falling on my (admittedly horrifically tragic) car. Just a lot of wind, a little rain and a total shutdown of my city. Today was a different story- my daily bike ride into center city started with me narrowly (literally- ten paces or so) escaping being caught in a car wreck. Had I not turned when I did I would have been pinned between the car speeding to make the light (he didn’t) and the SUV he plowed into. Close call. I could smell the burned rubber of tires and radiator fluid, even feel the disturbance in the air from the collision. I skidded to a stop (I’ve yet to get those brake pads sorted out) and called 911.

The Philadelphia 911 Operator who took the call reinforced the stereotypes of Philadelphia 911 Operators. Rude, dismissive and condescending. Yes, I do appreciate that you have a ‘heavy volume of calls’ due to the Hurricane, but right around the time the driver got out of the car with blood running down his face, totally disoriented, I kind of don’t care to hear the PGW/PECO spiel. I’ll skip to the good samaritan portion of my day, report the accident and get back to biking. Thanks. Ugh.

The rest of the bike ride wasn’t terrible. Our bike lanes were totally clogged with debris so I had to ride in the street, but the cars seemed to be working with me and I made it to the gym without incident. The wind was still brutal, but… I was biking the day after a hurricane. Can’t say I didn’t expect it.

After the gym I caught a showing of SILENT HILL at the Riverview. I seem to recall that it has a subtitle, but… it doesn’t really matter. It’s pretty much more of the same. Spooky town. Cenobite-y looking monsters. Lack of a real plot. I didn’t hate it. Free ticket and all.

31 Days of Horror Films 2012:

  1. House of 1000 Corpses.
  2. The Devil’s Rejects.
  3. The Texas Chainsaw Massacre 2.
  4. Phantasm.
  5. Slither.
  6. The Innkeepers.
  7. The Strangers.
  8. Nightmare before Christmas/Coraline/Frankenweenie. (2012)
  9. Hellraiser/Nightbreed/Lord of Illusions.
  10. A Nightmare on Elm Street/A Nightmare on Elm Street 2.
  11. Cabin in the Woods.
  12. Halloween 4/5.
  13. No Movie- travel day.
  14. Trick R Treat.
  15. Sinister (2012)
  16. Walking Dead Season II. Yes. The entire season.
  17. Children of the Corn.
  18. Halloween II (Rob Zombie)
  19. Texas Chainsaw Massacre. (remake)
  20. Season of the Witch (1972)
  21. Beyond the Black Rainbow.
  22. Suspiria.
  23. Planet Terror.
  24. No movie- travel day.
  25. Prince of Darkness.
  26. Death Proof.
  27. The Exorcist. (original version)
  28. Night of the Living Dead (remake)
  29. Evil Dead II.
  30. Silent Hill Revelation.

Photo: Black Kaws v Pushead Companion

Leave a Reply

