Monday 10.29.12

I finally gave up on ‘Spooky Themed’ photos. I made it almost the whole month but unable to find anything suitable and the weather keeping me from going out and taking something new… you get a chair and a tire. Spooky.

Speaking of weather. Hurricane Sandy. The Frankenstorm. It’s all any of us here on the east coast are talking about. Luckily I still have power and aside from the entire city being closed…. things aren’t too bad here yet. The rain has slowed down, but the wind is speeding up. Looking out my window I can see the neighbor’s flag whipping back and forth. I’ll remember to talk to them about flag etiquette if we don’t all die in the storm. It’s not really freaking me out; growing up in Florida in the middle of a hurricane zone really sort of desensitizes you to the effects of the big storms like this. I’ve watch my barn’s roof get ripped off and heavy farm equipment get picked up and flown halfway across the yard, so a little bit of wind and rain doesn’t really bother me. Who knows if this will get any worse… but I’ve got a bunch of sardines, Clif bars and a roasted chicken, so to hell with it.

I’ve currently got some AirBnB folks staying in the guest room. They’re set to depart tomorrow, but we’re waiting to see if their bus has been canceled. I offered them the room free of charge if their plans get skunked, figure it must be pretty nerve wracking to be trapped in a city you don’t know with an epic storm breathing down your neck and have to worry about where you’re going to be sleeping if things go pear shaped.  So aside from the comp’d room, I’ve offered them free alcohol (a well stocked home always has a bottle of the big four, even if it’s owner doesn’t drink) to take their minds off of things, and they’ve set about to watch Human Centipede. I’d hate for them to get stranded here, but they’re at least really pleasant guests so it could be worse.

(took a bit of a break)

No real update on the storm. There’s a loose cable outside that keeps hitting the door and scaring me silly and Bailey won’t poop to save his life, but at least we still have power and no trees flying through our windows. I used the little break from typing to start roasting that chicken. Forty cloves of stinky garlic stuffed under the skin, in the cavity, around the edges. It’s making my house smell amazing. I’ve notified my Australians that the house is about to be made vampire proof and they’re on board. Going to do a little kale/brussels sprouts/chickepeas side and then retreat to my room to spend the next twelve hours or so watching horror movies and cuddling with Bailey. I’m in a super sentimental mood tonight; happens sometimes and when it does my close friends are likely to get a message/text/etc of me going on about how much I love them and how important to me they are. I don’t emote nearly enough, so it all sort of builds up and when it overflows like this I end up coming off like a teenage girl with her first crush. I think they forgive me my trespasses.
I just checked on my Dad- he’s close to Atlantic City and I was getting a little worried, but he said things are fine there and that despite a little rain and wind, he’s had no issues. Again, you’re talking about someone born and raised in Florida who has a similar detachment from the hurricane panic, so it could be terrible over there and the Gator would probably think it’s ‘not bad, not bad’. Plus chaos gives him an excuse to poke at stuff with post-hole diggers or a machete, and when your name is the Gator, that’s like money from home. I’ll keep checking in with him, of course- looks like NJ and NY are going to get hit the worst. Crazy.

31 Days of Horror Films 2012:

  1. House of 1000 Corpses.
  2. The Devil’s Rejects.
  3. The Texas Chainsaw Massacre 2.
  4. Phantasm.
  5. Slither.
  6. The Innkeepers.
  7. The Strangers.
  8. Nightmare before Christmas/Coraline/Frankenweenie. (2012)
  9. Hellraiser/Nightbreed/Lord of Illusions.
  10. A Nightmare on Elm Street/A Nightmare on Elm Street 2.
  11. Cabin in the Woods.
  12. Halloween 4/5.
  13. No Movie- travel day.
  14. Trick R Treat.
  15. Sinister (2012)
  16. Walking Dead Season II. Yes. The entire season.
  17. Children of the Corn.
  18. Halloween II (Rob Zombie)
  19. Texas Chainsaw Massacre. (remake)
  20. Season of the Witch (1972)
  21. Beyond the Black Rainbow.
  22. Suspiria.
  23. Planet Terror.
  24. No movie- travel day.
  25. Prince of Darkness.
  26. Death Proof.
  27. The Exorcist. (original version)
  28. Night of the Living Dead (remake)
  29. Evil Dead II.
Leave a Reply

