Sunday 10.28.12

Everyone on the east coast is preparing for Hurricane Sandy (they’re calling it Frankenstorm. That’s just dumb) while Bailey and I relax and watch horror movies. Maybe I should be a little more freaked out, but growing up in central Florida leaves you a little nonchalant about hurricanes. Pictures are flooding Facebook of empty grocery store shelves and Twitter tweets of panicked shoppers abound. I think people just don’t know how to deal with a little rain and wind anymore. The last time we had a major hurricane come through Philly it was a dud. Public transit closures, a city wide state of emergency and general panic and it was barely raining. I guess no one wants to have the next Katrina on their hands, so they just overreact so they can say they reacted.

Just the same I’m going to pack Bailey in the car tonight and drive him into work with me; I’d rather have him with me in case things actually do get bad; paying $8 for parking is a lot better than biking home in crappy weather to take care of my creepy little buddy. We’re going to go in a little early, watch a movie or two at the Overground and then see what the night brings us.

Green Ishaq

The Superheroes and Villains party last night was great. I always feel like such a square for never dressing up, and seeing all of the folks in costume made me wish I wasn’t so much of a stick in the mud. Then again, but around 1am when folks had been in costume for a few hours, were grumpy and sweaty and shedding their costumes in favor of jeans and sneakers reminded me why I don’t do it. I keep telling myself ‘next year’ but I’m sure I’ll always remain the Death of Fun.

I think I’ve given up on trying to make Halloween plans this year. Kinda sucks, but no one really seems that into it. It’s one of those schedule things, I think- everyone celebrated it this weekend while they have off. Maybe I’ll just watch a few spooky movies and resign myself to a calm, quiet night. My street doesn’t really get a lot of trick or treaters and I never really stock up on candy, so a chill night at the bar watching Halloween and Nightmare Before Christmas is my fallback plan. I’d say being an adult sucks, but I’ll never give in to actually being an adult, so I’ll still cross my fingers that I’ll fall into something fun.

31 Days of Horror Films 2012:

  1. House of 1000 Corpses.
  2. The Devil’s Rejects.
  3. The Texas Chainsaw Massacre 2.
  4. Phantasm.
  5. Slither.
  6. The Innkeepers.
  7. The Strangers.
  8. Nightmare before Christmas/Coraline/Frankenweenie. (2012)
  9. Hellraiser/Nightbreed/Lord of Illusions.
  10. A Nightmare on Elm Street/A Nightmare on Elm Street 2.
  11. Cabin in the Woods.
  12. Halloween 4/5.
  13. No Movie- travel day.
  14. Trick R Treat.
  15. Sinister (2012)
  16. Walking Dead Season II. Yes. The entire season.
  17. Children of the Corn.
  18. Halloween II (Rob Zombie)
  19. Texas Chainsaw Massacre. (remake)
  20. Season of the Witch (1972)
  21. Beyond the Black Rainbow.
  22. Suspiria.
  23. Planet Terror.
  24. No movie- travel day.
  25. Prince of Darkness.
  26. Death Proof.
  27. The Exorcist. (original version)
  28. Night of the Living Dead (remake)

Photo: Black Cat Fireworks!

Leave a Reply

