Saturday 10.27.12

The absolute worst time to remember that I needed to change the brake pads on my bike is at a stop sign. It wasn’t really a stop sign for me, for what it’s worth. It was more a skid out of control and slam into a car sign. She was a good sport about it- some tattooed maniac flying towards her car, furiously grabbing his brakes could go either way for some folks, but she took it in stride. No damage to her, no damage to me and after a bit of a laugh, I biked off with it fresh in my head to get new pads first thing today.

First thing today I played with Bailey, made some Tazo Honeybush tea (it’s my new favorite) and played Draw Something for an hour (incidentally- my name is ovibrations. bring it on) instead of taking care of it. I’ll get them, for sure. Just need to get motivated to leave my lovebug of a dog and the comfort of my day to do it.

I did manage to get a decent amount of house cleaning done in between drawings- We have some AirBnB folks coming today (Australians. Always Australians) so it’s that motivation I need to do a full kitchen and living room cleanup. Make sure all the dishes are squared away, the countertops and stove cleaned, the floor swiffered and everything that has no place put in one. One of the best things about being an AirBnb host (aside from the money and meeting new people) is that it motivates me to do more housekeeping. Not that our house is messy, but sometimes basic tidyness gets the better of me and having paying guests tends to remind me to clean up.

Sure, some still nitpick- I think that some guests forget that it’s someone’s house and not a hotel/hostel. Instead of addressing something, they tell you that they’re having an amazing time then mention in their review that the waste basket in the bathroom wasn’t swapped out between guests. I’ll get my staff right on it. Jeepers. Most of them are really rad- I haven’t had a negative experience yet. Just wish that they’d ask me to fix the little nitpicks before publicly posting about it. Perhaps it’s my fault- I review them positively even when they’re a little messy or leave the door unlocked… c’est la vie. It’s free money, fun new people and a lot of fun even with the little snags.

Work is looking like it’s going to be fun tonight if people don’t get too freaked out by the ‘Frankenstorm’ that forecasters are calling for. One of our leather clubs is going to be hosting their yearly Super Heroes & Villains party tonight. Folks get really creative with their costumes; sure some comes as an existing Superhero, but others go all out and make their own characters with a kinky or leather flair to them. It’s one of the most fun events of the year for me- Halloween plus Superheroes plus a little kink- it’s perfect.

Of course I’ll be dressed in my standard outfit of gap + levi’s + chucks, but it’s the thought that counts. I don’t call myself the death of fun for no reason. I kind of wanted a Lone Ranger style mask to at least pretend that I was dressed up, but I forgot to pick one up and the idea of going to a costume store the Saturday before Halloween is about as pleasant as the thought of jamming a cactus in my britches- Sure I’ve done it, but I wouldn’t want to do it again. So instead I’ll go as ‘Disgruntled Bar Manager’ again and just have a good time.

The Thirty One Days of Horror films marathon has gone great so far; I’ve missed a few days because of travel, but I’ve doubled up a few days to compensate. Some of these are films I haven’t watched in years, so it’s been great to revisit them, especially the ones that I get to watch at the Overground. Big screen Suspiria was kickass. The overground is nice and spooky on it’s own, but when you’re sitting there in the middle of the room, in the dark, with that Goblins score… just perfect. I’ve got a bunch of films in queue to watch even after the marathon is over.

31 Days of Horror Films 2012:

  1. House of 1000 Corpses.
  2. The Devil’s Rejects.
  3. The Texas Chainsaw Massacre 2.
  4. Phantasm.
  5. Slither.
  6. The Innkeepers.
  7. The Strangers.
  8. Nightmare before Christmas/Coraline/Frankenweenie. (2012)
  9. Hellraiser/Nightbreed/Lord of Illusions.
  10. A Nightmare on Elm Street/A Nightmare on Elm Street 2.
  11. Cabin in the Woods.
  12. Halloween 4/5.
  13. No Movie- travel day.
  14. Trick R Treat.
  15. Sinister (2012)
  16. Walking Dead Season II. Yes. The entire season.
  17. Children of the Corn.
  18. Halloween II (Rob Zombie)
  19. Texas Chainsaw Massacre. (remake)
  20. Season of the Witch (1972)
  21. Beyond the Black Rainbow.
  22. Suspiria.
  23. Planet Terror.
  24. No movie- travel day.
  25. Prince of Darkness.
  26. Death Proof.
  27. The Exorcist. (original version)

Photo: Skull found at Neshamminy Park.

Leave a Reply

