Friday 10.26.12

My streak of sleeping 5+ hours a night continues.
My body is feeling less tense these days and while I should probably be hoping for more hours per night, right now five is pretty good. If I can maintain this I won’t even stress about not getting more. Today found me getting up pretty early (after having falling to sleep easily last night hours before what I’m used to) and doing a little tidying before going to see Cloud Atlas. I’ve been looking forward to this one for months so I wanted to catch the first screening at the Riverview. Ultimately glad I did, since the film didn’t get out until well after 3pm. My friend Cory had texted me earlier in the morning to see what I was up to, so I invited her along to see the movie with me. I sort of feel bad that I took her to such a long movie. Totally worth it. Not only do I not see her enough (It’s been a few weeks) but the film was great. The Wachowskis did an incredible job (along with their co-director and editor) keeping all of the story threads together.

I know that there has been a pretty big pushback from the Asian community about the ‘yellow face’ decision of casting Western actors/Actresses in Asian roles. I’d like to think that they’re just reacting and don’t get the point of the film (where reincarnation is a major factor) but I know that they ‘get’ it and are just trying to shine a spotlight on their cause. The irony that most of the media starts with “The Wachowski brothers… oh wait, we can’t call them that anymore” while talking about sensitivity isn’t lost on me either.

In any case the film totally stands out as one of the best I’ve seen this year. Still no Looper, but…

 

31 Days of Horror Films 2012:

  1. House of 1000 Corpses.
  2. The Devil’s Rejects.
  3. The Texas Chainsaw Massacre 2.
  4. Phantasm.
  5. Slither.
  6. The Innkeepers.
  7. The Strangers.
  8. Nightmare before Christmas/Coraline/Frankenweenie. (2012)
  9. Hellraiser/Nightbreed/Lord of Illusions.
  10. A Nightmare on Elm Street/A Nightmare on Elm Street 2.
  11. Cabin in the Woods.
  12. Halloween 4/5.
  13. No Movie- travel day.
  14. Trick R Treat.
  15. Sinister (2012)
  16. Walking Dead Season II. Yes. The entire season.
  17. Children of the Corn.
  18. Halloween II (Rob Zombie)
  19. Texas Chainsaw Massacre. (remake)
  20. Season of the Witch (1972)
  21. Beyond the Black Rainbow.
  22. Suspiria.
  23. Planet Terror.
  24. No movie- travel day.
  25. Prince of Darkness.
  26. Death Proof.

Photo: Wheatpaste Lo Pan. 

Leave a Reply

