Monday 10.22.12

 

I probably shouldn’t say this for fear of jinxing myself, but the last few nights I’ve ended up getting more sleep than I’m used to. It’s only been (on average) and extra two hours per night of sleep- from three to five- but that’s a great start. I’m not sure if it’s because of my emotional purge this weekend or if my body is just shutting down and not accepting that little of sleep, but either way it’s working out great. I feel much more energetic, much less stiff and not quite as absent minded. I’m finding that I need to eat- protein- as soon as I get out of bed. Two eggs, some sardines or even an energy bar if I feel like getting out quickly. Doesn’t matter which but I have to eat something.

I made the most of an expiring free movie ticket that I found in my wallet (one had already expired, one still to go. I love the Regal Crown Club) and went to see an early showing of Martin McDonagh’s Seven Psychopaths at the Riverview. I also used free popcorn and free soda coupons that I had nestled in my wallet with the free movie tickets, so the whole production cost me nothing but time.  The film was great; McDonagh directed In Bruges (which may be one of Peter Dinklage’s best performances) with Colin Ferrell, who returns in Seven along with  Christopher Walken, Sam Rockwell and Woody Harrelson. I would have loved more screen time for Tom Waits, but the appearance of Harry Dean Stanton more than made up for it. Shame HDS and Tom never shared the screen.

Gym Overload

I’ve been texting on and off this evening with my friend Peppermill about our NYC visit this week. I’m heading up a day before her but we get to spend all of Wednesday together. I’m geeked. She’s one of those “don’t see as often as I’d like but love unconditionally” friends so being able to budget a whole day with her is beyond rad. When I went down to the Richmond tattoo convention last November I ended up sitting out front of the convention center catching up with her for probably five straight hours; totally forgetting that we were there for the convention. So yeah. Beyond geeked.

Otherwise today was fairly typical routine for me. Bailey hangout, biking, gym and finally setting down at the Overground to watch Suspiria (which is today’s 31 Days horror film- As we get closer to Halloween I’m pulling out the big guns) before taking a long bike ride home.

My life is stable. That’s pretty rad.

 

 

31 Days of Horror Films 2012:

  1. House of 1000 Corpses.
  2. The Devil’s Rejects.
  3. The Texas Chainsaw Massacre 2.
  4. Phantasm.
  5. Slither.
  6. The Innkeepers.
  7. The Strangers.
  8. Nightmare before Christmas/Coraline/Frankenweenie. (2012)
  9. Hellraiser/Nightbreed/Lord of Illusions.
  10. A Nightmare on Elm Street/A Nightmare on Elm Street 2.
  11. Cabin in the Woods.
  12. Halloween 4/5.
  13. No Movie- travel day.
  14. Trick R Treat.
  15. Sinister (2012)
  16. Walking Dead Season II. Yes. The entire season.
  17. Children of the Corn.
  18. Halloween II (Rob Zombie)
  19. Texas Chainsaw Massacre. (remake)
  20. Season of the Witch (1972)
  21. Beyond the Black Rainbow.
  22. Suspiria.

Photo: Beyond the Black Rainbow at the Overground. 

Leave a Reply

