Sunday 10.21.12

You have to love having friends who work in the bar business. The kind of folks who START a BBQ at Midnight, so it’ll still be going strong at 2am when people in our line of work are getting off shift. After work last night I biked over to my friend Mike’s place in North Philly for a little BBQ, a little Hot Tubbin’ and a lot of kickass catching up. I haven’t seen Mike in way too long, so sitting in a hot tub in 45* weather, talking smack and laughing our asses off was the perfect way to end my Saturday.

Why more people don’t think to have BBQs in the middle of the night is beyond me.

Biking back south at 6am was a treat; in all of my exploring I’ve really not gone North before so there was so much new stuff to see as I shivered and avoided aggressive panhandlers who actually asked me for money while I was moving. I extended what would have been a 5 mile ride to a nice comfortable ten. Not long enough to be a moving Shawncicle in the weather that I had radically underdressed for, but enough that I got a good workout in that wore me the heck out. I went to bed at 7am and managed to sleep until noon. Five hours. Thank god for small favors. I woke up feeling amazing. I’ve been craving sleep; my body needs it and the more I obsess about it the less I seem to get. 

I still haven’t made any plans for Halloween. I’m not sure why. It’s my favorite day of the year and for once… nothing. It seems to be going around for what it’s worth. When I’ve whined about it on Facebook more than a few of my friends have said they’re in the same boat. Unfortunately they’re not local friends- that would pretty much solve the problem. So I’m still trying to figure out what to do. I’m going to Richmond the Monday before Halloween (which is on a Wednesday this year) so I can’t really justify two roadtrips in the same week. Fuel costs are kind of high right now and my ugly car guzzles it. So that leaves me hanging. I knew it was going to be tough to beat last year’s Jodorowsky at the MoMA, but I didn’t expect a total void.  I mean, worst case scenario I can still watch some spooky movies, sip some cider and be a homebody… I dunno.

At least I have Richmond to look forward to; and a last minute trip to NYC this weekend to support my friend Alissa during her suspension. I think I’m going to head up the day before to spend more time with Kathleen and Atom, so this works out really well all around. I’m going to ride back with Alissa, so I’ll get to spend a little more time with her than I had expected. Planning things tends to work out poorly for me, so when last minute things like this pop up I always go for them.

31 Days of Horror Films 2012:

  1. House of 1000 Corpses.
  2. The Devil’s Rejects.
  3. The Texas Chainsaw Massacre 2.
  4. Phantasm.
  5. Slither.
  6. The Innkeepers.
  7. The Strangers.
  8. Nightmare before Christmas/Coraline/Frankenweenie. (2012)
  9. Hellraiser/Nightbreed/Lord of Illusions.
  10. A Nightmare on Elm Street/A Nightmare on Elm Street 2.
  11. Cabin in the Woods.
  12. Halloween 4/5.
  13. No Movie- travel day.
  14. Trick R Treat.
  15. Sinister (2012)
  16. Walking Dead Season II. Yes. The entire season.
  17. Children of the Corn.
  18. Halloween II (Rob Zombie)
  19. Texas Chainsaw Massacre. (remake)
  20. Season of the Witch (1972)

Photo: Mexican Folk Art Devil at Eye’s Art

One thought on “Sunday 10.21.12

  1. i’m planning on handing out candy to the neighborhood kids. halloween is my favorite day too, but i’ve been so stressed that i haven’t gotten around to planning anything

Leave a Reply

