Friday 10.19.12

I mentioned my blog to my therapist yesterday.
That I put a decent amount of personal information out there for the world to read. It’s not new for me really- I’ve mentioned before that I used to publish ‘zines and have had some sort of personal website since 1995 that was separate from what ever project- SPCO, Scarwars, OV- that I was working on at the time. One of my employees said yesterday “well yeah, you get off on people reading about your life.” True enough. But the opposite side of the coin is true as well- I love reading about other people’s lives, too. I used to have boxes and boxes of personal ‘zines, found in Fact Sheet Five, that were just little dispatches from the lives of strangers. As much as I miss the creativity of that (lot of stalling on my latest print ‘zine… need to work harder on it) I still love reading people’s blogs and interacting with total strangers…

I might interact with strangers more often than I do with my friends.

Today was a lazy one. The weather when I woke up- much later than normal by the way, with a full five hours of sleep- was grey and cold. So I threw on a horror movie (Texas Chainsaw Massacre remake) and waited out the weather. I feel like I’m coming down with a cold, so biking to the gym in the rain just wasn’t on the docket. Eventually I got bored with sitting around, so I decided to go to the happiest place on earth… THE CONTAINER STORE. It’s a wonderland. I do there to get clear risers for my toy display cases, but I always end up wandering around looking at all of the organizational goodness. And everyone there is so damned friendly. I bought exactly what I went there looking for, but I was there for easily forty minutes. I need to go there more often, that’s for sure.

I also treated myself to a ‘cheat’ lunch. Ruby Buffet. All I can eat crab’s legs and Crawdaddies. I recently hit a new milestone in my fitness life- sixty pounds lost- So I decided to celebrate by gorging myself on all of god’s creatures. Crabs. Crawdaddies. Frog’s legs, Shrimps, Tuna, Mackerel, Salmon, Clam, Eel, Beef, Duck, Chicken, Pork, Squid…. you name it. My stomach is like Noah’s Ark right now. Calorically irresponsible, for sure. But I rarely do it and I avoided almost all of the deep fried foods, the starches, etc… so it was just a big ol protein orgy. I won’t be doing it again any time soon, that’s for sure.

Of course the elephant in the room (I didn’t eat an elephant) today has been the worry of how tomorrow will effect me. It would have been the ‘big day’. Right now, had my life gone differently than it has, I’d be sitting and giggling with Bethany, and with Allison… with Robert and Erin and we’d be planning all of the wedding stuff for tomorrow. My ex would be going crazy, stressing and worrying about things. We’d be getting ready to start a new adventure. Instead… I’ve had to find my own adventure. I’m conflicted, honestly. I’ve mentioned before that I miss her greatly. but…. I don’t know. My life is rad right now. There’s something missing- but I’m not sure that it’s her. That’s a recent thing. That I’m missing being with someone, not missing being with her. I think that’s a good thing. A healthy thing.

Who knows how I’ll think about it tomorrow?

Right now though? Not as bad as I thought it would be.

31 Days of Horror Films 2012:

  1. House of 1000 Corpses.
  2. The Devil’s Rejects.
  3. The Texas Chainsaw Massacre 2.
  4. Phantasm.
  5. Slither.
  6. The Innkeepers.
  7. The Strangers.
  8. Nightmare before Christmas/Coraline/Frankenweenie. (2012)
  9. Hellraiser/Nightbreed/Lord of Illusions.
  10. A Nightmare on Elm Street/A Nightmare on Elm Street 2.
  11. Cabin in the Woods.
  12. Halloween 4/5.
  13. No Movie- travel day.
  14. Trick R Treat.
  15. Sinister (2012)
  16. Walking Dead Season II. Yes. The entire season.
  17. Children of the Corn.
  18. Halloween II (Rob Zombie)
  19. Texas Chainsaw Massacre. (remake)

Photo: Mr Bones.

Leave a Reply

