Friday 10.12.12

Tomorrow would have been my fourth anniversary with the ex. It would have been seven days until we got married. I’m doing my best not to dwell on that, but if you’ve read the last couple of posts, obviously I’m dwelling. Not sitting in a dark room moping and listening to the Smiths dwelling, but obviously it’s occupying a lot of my thoughtspace right now. I hate that I’ve had so many revelations as a result of the breakup; and that I didn’t have them when we were still together so I’d be able to apply them in that relationship; but those are the breaks and hopefully they’ll provide me a little more balance in my next one.

Luckily for me, however,  tomorrow is going to be an adventure day!
My buddy Tony gifted me with a pass for the New York Comic Con. My favorite artist- Pushead- is going to be doing a signing at the Toy Tokyo booth at 4pm. I’m going to get to hang out with all of my nerdy toy collector friends all day, and when the convention is over I get to spend time with my sister Kathleen, my brother inlaw Atom and goodness knows whoever else. Very exciting. Generally when I go to NYCC, I leave as soon as I get my toy from Pushead, hop on the bus and rush back to work. Makes for a crazy, whirlwindy day and by about midnight I’m dropping out and really inefficient. Robert just gave me the whole night off to go get nerdy this year so it’s going to be a lot less stressful. There’ll be an update on my Pushead blog sometime on Saturday if you have any interest in toy related stuff. Very niche and nerdy.

I’m pretty geeked that it’s only 12th October and the temperature tonight is going to dip down into the low 30*s. It makes the bike rides to/from work a little more taxing, but laying in bed and watching spooky movies curled up under a blanket with my faithful and stinky Sweazel is the best. I’m of the opinion that you can always make yourself warmer when it’s cold but it’s much more difficult to get cool when you’re hot. Right now I’m sitting in bed with a hoodie on and Bails half on my lap half on the bed. He’s in his goofy little Jack-o-lantern T-shirt and drifting into and out of sleep. The amount this dog sleeps makes me jealous. I’ve been thinking about talking to my therapist about prescribing Bailey to me as my ‘comfort animal’ so I can dress him in a little helper vest and take him to places that dogs aren’t allowed. That’s going to tie in to me amassing a large fleet of creepy, middle aged Italian Greyhounds in my attempts to be ‘that guy’.

The horror movie-fest is still going strong. Yesterday I watched Cabin in the Woods. I know the CG is terrible and the stoner kid looks way too much like Shaggy, but it was so dang fun that I forgave it it’s trespasses. Even saw it twice theatrically, which is saying a lot for a film that has a ‘twist’. With the ‘white board’ in the film there’s a chance for more movies set in the world the film created. Witches. Sexy Witches. Angry Molesting Tree. So much potential there. Usually I get antsy about films that try to play on archetypes- I’m ok if the characters ARE archetypes- but when they sort of beat you over the head with it I usually pass on it. But the screenplay was smart enough to  cover it.  Today’s movie is going to be Halloween 4. I don’t really care much for the sequels, but a customer at the bar and I were talking about the whole weird Druid subplot of either 4 or 5 (I can’t say I remember, honestly) so I’m going to revisit them and see what’s up. I’ll likely watch 5 too, since I won’t have time to watch anything tomorrow. Unless I load something into my iPad. Hmm… decisions!

Speaking of Halloween- I’ve still not made plans. Last year was spent in NYC- the MOMA had a presentation of Jodorowsky’s The Holy Mountain (my favorite film) with Alejandro doing an intro and Q&A, as well as Martha Stewart in attendance. Yeah. That’s a hell of a combo. I wrote a little about it on Occult Vibrations: Real Life Awaits Us. So yeah. No idea what I’m going to be doing. I want to do SOMETHING, but… what? Ideas?

31 Days of Horror Films 2012:

  1. House of 1000 Corpses.
  2. The Devil’s Rejects.
  3. The Texas Chainsaw Massacre 2.
  4. Phantasm.
  5. Slither.
  6. The Innkeepers.
  7. The Strangers.
  8. Nightmare before Christmas/Coraline/Frankenweenie. (2012)
  9. Hellraiser/Nightbreed/Lord of Illusions.
  10. A Nightmare on Elm Street/A Nightmare on Elm Street 2.
  11. Cabin in the Woods.
  12. Halloween 4/5

Photo: The Spooky Goth Bailey. 

Leave a Reply

