Monday 10.08.12

Still clicking along with my 31 Days of Horror Films countdown. Sunday morning before I went to work I watched the Strangers. Really effective thriller/horror movie. It pains me to think that they’re going to make a sequel. The intangible who and why (because you were home is good enough for me) is what made it disturbing for me; if they give any more insight into the motivations/backgrounds of the killers I think something would be lost. And if it’s just more ‘we’re in your house’ thrills… why bother? Create something new. That said- every time I watch the film… I always double check the locks and the closet. Just in case. Rare that a movie can give me the heebie jeebies.

Today… I woke up early. As always. Despite being BEAT from yesterday my body/mind just wouldn’t let me sleep later than 9am. Considering my last blog update was written near 5am.. you can imagine that I didn’t get much sleep. It’s too late now to take a nap, but I have a feeling tonight is going to be a really lazy one for me. Netflix or Hulu plus, Bailey and either a quick dinner (pork and scallops with pineapple and collard greens, or chicken’s breast and  cauliflower) cooked at home or a quicker low-cal local Chinese delivery and my comfy bed. I’m leaning heavily towards the latter. No cooking. No cleanup. I’ll have to text one of you to call the order in, given my contempt for using the phone. (I’m only half kidding)

Thankfully, rising early allowed me to do a little film festival in honor of the Horror Film bonanza- I started with Nightmare Before Christmas, moved on to the very underrated Coraline, and then booked it to the theater for a showing of Frankenweenie. I know it’s blasphemy to all of the maladjusted teens who frequent HOT TOPIC, but for my money Coraline is the best of the bunch. I love NBC- it’s really well done, there’s a lot of monsters and who doesn’t love a musical, but Coraline is just spookier. Disturbing. The Other Mother… freaky. Definitely holds up.

Tonight I think I’m going to watch something with a little more teeth. Either Zombies or Vampires. Probably Zombies. I had started watching season eight of HELLS KITCHEN, but after Holli on season 7, it’s all downhill. I know it’s sensationalized, but the previous seasons seemed more genuine. This is just straight up… tv showy. I’m going to take a break from it for a while and concentrate on graphic horror violence, exploitive nudity and monsters. This is the boring life of a single man in his late 30s who’s best friend is an Italian Greyhound; revel in it. Chinese delivery, discussion of my reality shows, stinky dog, bad movies, and possibly pajamas. Hard to believe I’m single, right?

I’ve had an AirBnB guest in the guest room since Saturday and I’ve yet to meet her. The whole thing is still weird to me, but still fun. I think she leaves tomorrow so I honestly don’t know if I’ll end up meeting her or not. Sometimes it’s like that. You come home to a note on the breakfast bar telling you that that had a lovely time and thanking you for the space and it’s coming from a person who temporarily lived in your home but you never met. I would have never thought that I’d be this comfortable with the randomness of it. And aside from a few small things (I always tell them not to make the bed on the last day cause I’m going to strip the sheets anyway- but when you DO strip the sheets and find a bandaid in them, you can totally empathize with housekeepers everywhere)  it’s all been smooth sailing. I’ve tried to use feedback from previous guests to make future guests more comfortable- little things you’d never think about like making sure there’s hand soap in the guest washroom and having a printer online to make it easier for them to deal with boarding passes and such. I try to make sure that they have a good stay in exchange for the extra income they’re providing for me. Once I get back from NYCC I’m going to start working harder on the guest room overhaul. The fresh coat of paint (finally settled on a color I love- and it’s a historic trust color!) and a new bed frame and bedside table will be paid for by the guests themselves, so it’s a rad process. Long term I’d like a new mattress in there, but it’s not as much of a priority as the frame and furniture.

Another person I rarely see is Meg. The roommate. I hear her moving around in the house (just heard her door close) but I’ll probably not see her at all today. Another great arrangement. She’s a really nice gal and it’s nice to catch up with each other (she made me eggs the other morning. That’s a good way to make me happy. eggs.) but we’re not tripping over each other all the time. Texts are our primary means of communication; we work a block away from each other and share a client base, so a lot of times it’s messages back and forth about the evening’s trainwrecks and how horrible it is to be bored and at work at 2am. Much like hosting on AirBnB, it’s working out much better than I could have hoped.

I’m going to be late for an appointment if I don’t cut this short, but I just feel really wordy today, even if I’m not really saying anything important. Keeping track of my days, even when they’re boring, seems to be getting a lot of priority in my life right now, and I’ve noticed that the more I write here, the more I’m writing elsewhere. Blog updates on OV are getting more than single sentence treatments, the project I’m working on for my penpal has more substance, etc. Very happy with all that.

And now I realize I’m really running late. Oops.

31 Days of Horror Films 2012:

  1. House of 1000 Corpses.
  2. The Devil’s Rejects.
  3. The Texas Chainsaw Massacre 2.
  4. Phantasm.
  5. Slither
  6. The Innkeepers.
  7. The Strangers
  8. Nightmare before Christmas/Coraline/Frankenweenie (2012)

Photo: The gravesite of author Howard Phillips Lovecraft. 

Leave a Reply

